Olja Savičević

Farewell, Cowboy


Farewell, Cowboy is a tough yet poetic novel by one of Croatia's best known writers. The story is rich in local colour and sentiment, following the main character, Dada, who returns to her home town on the Adriatic coast in order to unravel the mystery of her brother Daniel's death. Daniel, although young, smart and popular, threw himself under a train in mysterious circumstances a few years earlier. In her search for clues, Dada meets an array of eccentric characters and succumbs to the charms of the young gigolo Angelo, who is a part of a film crew shooting a Western on the nearby "prairie". Slowly and painfully she discovers all there is to know about her brother's death, and how Angelo was caught up in it.

In her debut novel, Savičević playfully transposes the genre of a traditional Western drama onto the contemporary world, challenging the omnipotent heroes of childhood and questioning what constitutes heroism today. Her shabby seaside hometown provides the perfect backdrop for this tale of loss and redemption, redolent of transient glamour and unrealised small-town dreams.

Über die Autorin / über den Autor:

Olja Savičević is one of the best Croatian contemporary authors and a representative of the so called "‘lost generation". Politically and socially engaged, Olja's work has been included in a number of Croatian anthologies and international selections. Her writing has been translated into many languages. Her short stories collection To Make a Dog Laugh won the prize for best author under thirty-five awarded jointly by Vijenac. Her collection of poems Mamasafari and Other Things was short-listed for the Kiklop Award for Best Collection of 2012, awarded annually by the Pula Book Fair. Her best-selling novel, Farewell, Cowboy, achieved great success in the region, and was adapted into a stage play. Savičević also writes for children and for the theatre.

Preis: CHF 19.90
Sprache: Englisch (aus dem Kroatischen von Celia Hawkesworth)
Art: Broschiertes Buch
Erschienen: 2018 (2015)
Verlag: istrosbooks
ISBN: 978-1-908236-48-7
Masse: 184 S.